What you need to know about campus social life series {6}

Lauren attends Colgate, swims and as you can tell from below, a horseback rider.

Kinnelon-teen-portrait

HOW I MET MY CLOSEST FRIENDS: The swim team and on my floor in my dorm. It’s easiest to become close to people you are constantly around.

DORM ADVICE: Keep an open door and be friendly. It’s really easy to get close to people on your floor. In regards to roommates, I know most people say “you just have to be able to get along” and I think that is true. Personally, my 2 roommates are my best friends. I didn’t find adjusting to living with people to be too hard.. it’s all about being easy going.

DORM, GREEK, OTHER: Our social scene is split between Greek and house parties, but you don’t have to be involved in Greek life in order to go out. A lot of sports teams have houses/ apartments that they host things in. We have one bar called the Jug that serves to 18+ (No one is really sure how this exists, but it does).

A TYPCIAL WEEKEND IS: A balance between being in the library or being out.

CLUB FAVORITES: Every athlete needs to be part of this volunteer program called “Adopt-a-Classroom” where we spend an hour or so at the local elementary school. This is the only “club” I’m involved in, but I love it.

LATE NIGHT CRAVING: Oh boy.. our dining hall is open 24/7 so late night eating is very prevalent and very dangerous (haha) Starting at 10, Chef Ed makes unbeatable french toast and his own “Ed burgers”.

MOST FUN CAMPUS TRADITIONS: The number 13 is our lucky number (Colgate was founded by 13 men with $13 and our address has #13) It’s fun to recognize many “13” related things on campus and every Friday the 13th is Colgate Day!

FAVORITE DISCOVERY ON/OFF CAMPUS: We have (what used to be) a ski hill on campus that has really pretty hiking trials off of it.

STUDY TIP: Start assignments early. While there isn’t daily homework like high school, you do have to study every day and work on papers/projects very far in advance in order to do well.

SECRET STUDY SPOT: In the science center next to my dorm. They leave the classrooms open at night so my friends and I like to take one and study together.

BEST CUP OF COFFEE: Saxbys!

MOST USED APP: Instagram

HOMESICKNESS: I missed my family the most leading up to breaks. I text my sister and parents almost everyday and call them whenever I miss them a lot. Having a family group chat is a fun way to stay in touch.

SKYPE OR FACETIME: Facetime!

LAST TIME I DID LAUNDRY: I actually did laundry today 🙂

Sorry for such long answers, talking about college is so fun 🙂

To be sure you don’t miss a post from this series be sure to subscribe in the upper left-hand corner.

http://www.paigepphotography.com

 

Leave a Reply

