What you need to know about campus social life series. {1}

I’ve done my fair share of campus visits over the past year. We have two more to go in another couple of weeks and then it’s decision time! I ask a lot of questions when we’re on the tours, thankfully my son finds it funny. Have you ever noticed that no matter how you ask the question about social life all you get is the politically correct response. Well we have the most recent movies playing and there are great plays and jazz ensembles at the cultural center… Ummmmmmm, ok. I have a hockey-playing, rough and tumble, fun-loving BOY and I’m not naive! So here’s what I’m doing about this…I touched base with a whole bunch of my Paige P. girls (who are NOT wallflowers!) and asked them about social life at their respective schools. We’re going to be covering a very wide range of schools with this series! Stay tuned and subscribe in the upper left hand corner so you don’t miss a post.

First up…Fordham University. Morgan  is majoring in journalism with minors in Spanish and Fashion. If anyone can pull this off, it’s Morgan.

MorrisCounty-senior-portraits

HOW I MET MY CLOSEST FRIENDS: We all lived on the same floor in my dorm last year.

DORM ADVICE: Definitely freshman year leave your door open to make it a community and get to know the people on your floor. Even if you don’t stay friends with them, it’s always nice having some people you could at least go grab lunch with and know since they’re in such close proximity

DORM, GREEK, OTHER: Bars are definitely the biggest here. There’s no Greek life which I personally love so the bars are always fun. House parties at the sports team or club houses off campus are a nice change up from the bars too but they don’t happen as often. 

LATE NIGHT CRAVING: Always a bacon egg and cheese on a bagel from Rams Deli, as it is everyone’s favorite and it’s always packed, especially after a night out.

MOST FUN CAMPUS TRADITIONS: Spring weekend when they have all different free events for us on campus like a concert and a dance and it’s all weekend long and everyone throws parties and there’s always something to do.

FAVORITE DISCOVERY OFF CAMPUS: Free access to the Bronx Zoo and the Botanical Gardens which are both right across the street and so fun to go to in the nice weather.

FAVORITE DISCOVERY ON CAMPUS: The ramvan because it’s a super convenient way to get downtown without having to walk to the metro north or d train subway.

STUDY TIP:  Study out of your room because every time I try and study in my room I end up in bed taking buzzfeed quizzes on my computer rather than being productive.

SECRET STUDY SPOT: The basement of Walsh Library because less people go down there and there’s usually an empty conference room I can grab with my friends and sprawl out in.

BEST CUP OF COFFEE:  Off campus at Prince Coffee on Arthur Ave.

MOST RECENT GOOGLE SEARCH Trying to find the interview of the little boy from Moonlight on NY Times while I was watching the Oscars last night.

MOST USED APP: Definitely snapchat! It’s a nice way to see what’s going on around campus with your friends.

I MISSED MY FAMILY THE MOST WHEN:  My roommate freshman year would go home frequently on the weekends in the beginning of the year, but i got over it by trying to be social and make friends.

SKYPE OR FACETIME: Facetime.

LAST TIME I DID LAUNDRY: I did laundry last night. It’s a hit or miss on Sundays because the laundry room always fills up so quickly but it was surprisingly empty last night.

Make sure you don’t miss a post covering the social life at a school you’re interested in. Subscribe to the blog in the top left corner of this page.

http://www.paigepphotography.com

 

One thought on “What you need to know about campus social life series. {1}”

Leave a Reply

