Soaking up Summer Series: LET GO!

With school just around the corner, something for me to keep in mind.

Let go. That’s what I tell the girls I’m photographing all the time. Stop thinking. Be in the moment.

Senior pictures, Kinnelon, outdoor portrait.jpg

Now, it’s a mantra of sorts that I keep whispering to myself.  I’m the parent of a junior in high school and have been caught up in the tornado of ACTs, SATs, GPAs, APs. Did you register for this? Have your scores come? Are you on the honor roll? Did you visit this college? What about that college? It goes on and on and on. Quite honestly it has left me exhausted with my head spinning.

It all started this past fall when it was the best time for us to look at schools. So visit we did. My husband and I pulled into the parking lot of University #1, looked at each other and were quite literally speechless. How did we get to this point? Weren’t we just playing volleyball on the beach, trying to decide which party to go to that night? Then we visited another and then another after that. I can’t believe I’m saying this but thankfully the hockey schedule eventually prohibited us from more visits.

Then ten days prior to taking the first round of SATs my son got a concussion, which required jumping through a lot of hoops to reschedule. It is now late spring and my son is on strike (from visiting additional schools). Somewhat frustrated I asked him, why? Mom, I’m going to get into a school and I’m sure it will happen for a reason. If I’m not happy we’ll figure it out. Instead of processing what he was saying all I could think of was that he has actually been listening to me for the past 16 years! That is exactly what I would be saying to him, had I not been swallowed up by the college admissions tornado!

I’m sick of talking about schools. I’m sick of worrying about which school he’ll be going to. All I want to do is to absolutely soak up and enjoy this coming year. I don’t want to look back and regret that I was so worked up over this whole school thing that I didn’t enjoy having him around his final year of high school. So. I’m extricating myself from the tornado. Let it go. It all works out for a reason. I really do believe that, always have, always will. I just needed a 16 year old to remind me of that.

http://www.paigepphotography.com

 

One thought on “Soaking up Summer Series: LET GO!”

Leave a Reply

