A gift to my daughter. Beach Bound Series: 3

Another readers favorite…reposted as part of my “gone fishin'” beach bound series. Hope you’re having a great August!

I had a lump in my throat when she crawled under the covers with me.

Mommy I’m so pumped for my photoshoot tomorrow. Thank you for doing this.

And off she went to bed, just turned 13, in mismatched sweats and hair in braids.  It’s one of those experiences that your daughter will never forget. Maybe the details of it all but never that feeling she had during it. At the start there’s a little bit of a hesitation, a slight uneasiness, feeling awkward.

teen girl photo shootNot too long after that there is a shift. I can see it in their eyes, in the way they move and how quickly they are to laugh and giggle. They look as if they are becoming lighter and filled with light. And  that’s it, right there,  the feeling they will never forget.  Just because I was photographing my daughter it really wasn’t any different.

Towards the end of our “just turned 13” shoot, the sun was setting into what I call yummy mode. All I could focus on were the sparkling golden flecks in her big hazel eyes, thinking I’m the luckiest mom in the world to be able to give my daughter this gift.

teen portrait northern NJIf you’d like to see the video from this photoshoot go here.

http://www.paigepphotography.com

Leave a Reply

