Don’t try. Be.

I heard Colbie Caillat’s song Try on the radio for the first time today and turned it louder and louder. The words are powerful.

All my photo sessions come with hair and makeup as well as styling. Why would I find this song so powerful when it seemingly goes against all of that? I like a little bit of makeup and getting dressed up, it makes me feel pretty. And that’s the core of it. It makes me feel pretty. I’m not doing it to please someone else or because I should, to fit the ideals of others, but because that’s who I am; the intimate photographer for free-spirited adventuress’ who wears mascara and prefers skirts with barefeet.

When you’re in front of my lens the last thing I want you to do is to try. I want you to be exactly who you are. If that’s with a little bit of makeup and styling, great. If you’re looking for a transformation. You’ve got the wrong girl.  Don’t try. Be.

Leave a Reply

